top of page

A guide to your heart chakra

In the fourth of this series of blog posts we will look at the fourth of the main chakras; the heart chakra.

The heart chakra is our centre of love and compassion; for others and ourselves. In this chakra we are aware of our connectedness to something bigger than ourselves. It is where we feel our emotional empowerment, kindness, forgiveness, love, compassion, generosity and respect. From this chakra we learn to let go and trust and we learn to love ourselves and others.

Below is a summary of the some of the main attributes of the heart chakra:

Chakra: Heart

Sanskrit name: Anahata (unstruck)

Location: Centre of the chest

Colour: Green or rose pink

Element: Air

Subtle body: Astral body

Vowel: Ay

Sense: Touch

Challenge: Grief

Twinned with: Root and crown chakras

Basic rights: To love and be loved

Physical issues: Heart, lungs, circulatory system, arms, hands, thymus gland, breasts, oesophagus, shoulders, lymphatic system, immune system.

Emotional issues: Self-love, compassion, love for others, trust, kindness, forgiveness.

What are the signs of a healthy heart chakra?

When your heart chakra is healthy and in balance you feel love and compassion for others. You are non-judgemental and forgive easily. You accept others as they are. You also love and respect yourself – you are able to say no, to let go and to trust. You also possess a good balance of masculine and feminine attributes.

What can affect your heart chakra?

The heart chakra can be affected by some of the most painful things we may experience in life such as grief caused by the death of loved ones, divorce or relationship breakdowns. Other issues affecting the heart chakra are abandonment, rejection, adultery, abuse, betrayal and shame.

What are the symptoms of an out-of-balance heart chakra?

If your heart chakra is out of balance you may experience a wide range of physical and emotional issues:

Physical manifestations of an out-of-balance heart chakra are:

· heart conditions

· asthma

· shortness of breath

· palpitations

· circulatory problems

· respiratory problems

· immune disorders

· lung and breast cancers

· pneumonia

· upper back problems or tension

· shoulder problems

· pain in chest.

Emotional manifestations are:

· lack of self-love, self-esteem or self-confidence

· inability to say no

· despair

· hate

· envy

· fear

· jealousy

· co-dependency

· loneliness

· trust issues

· anger

· depression

· bitterness

· intolerance

· isolation

· lack of empathy

· possessiveness

· clingy behaviour

· obsessive behaviour and/or thoughts

· fear of relationships and/or intimacy.

How to support and heal your heart chakra

There are many ways you can help to support and heal your heart chakra:

Working through grief If you have experienced loss and grief, working through this with a professional can help to release some of these trapped emotions.

Touch As touch is the main sense of the heart chakra, anything focused on physical touch can help. Hugging friends and loved ones and intimacy with a partner can offer support but so too can hugging yourself or getting regular massages. Breathing exercises Opening the chest area can provide great healing for the heart chakra. Try different breathing exercises. You could try just focusing on your in-breath and out-breath, slowing it down and keeping it steady. You can also focus on your abdomen rather than your chest when you’re breathing so that your breath becomes deeper. Also experiment with the different types of yoga breathing.

Journalling Try keeping a journal of your feelings; whether you write it by hand, type it on a screen or record yourself speaking – getting your thoughts out will help with healing.

Inner child work If you haven’t done any ‘inner child’ work before, it can be a fantastic healing tool. Try working with a professional or there are a number of books available which give great guidance. I really like Taming the Outer Child by Susan Anderson.

Self-compassion exercise Often a lack of self-love and compassion is at the root of heart chakra imbalance. Read my blog article on self-love and compassion for a useful exercise.

Fragrances If you enjoy burning essential oils or using them in aromatherapy practices, try jasmine, lavender, rose, sandalwood, pine, honeysuckle, marjoram, lemon and eucalyptus.

Crystals The following crystals can be carried in your pocket or bag, left under your pillow or next to your bath, or used in healing to support the heart chakra: malachite, rose quartz, emerald, amber, tourmalines and green calcite.

Yoga poses If you would like to support your heart chakra through yoga poses, try cobra or forward bend.

Affirmations Affirmations can be helpful and, for the heart chakra try:

I am worthy of being loved I love and I am loved I live in balance with others The world is a compassionate place There is an endless supply of love I trust in life I am able to forgive myself and others.

Colours Green is the colour of the heart chakra, as is rose pink. To support this chakra, eat green foods (try, spinach, kale, cabbage, broccoli or green tea) or add cayenne, basil, thyme or parsley to your cooking. Wear green or rose pink clothes and surround yourself at work or home with objects in greens and rose pinks.

Air The element related to the heart chakra is air so get outside into some open space and take some deep breaths.

Visualisations/meditation Try the following exercise to open your heart chakra:

Close your eyes, take some deep breaths and relax. Focus on the centre of your chest. Begin to sense a green (or rose pink if you prefer) light in this area. Imagine it growing and expanding slowly. As it grows and expands the light gets brighter and brighter. Picture it spreading out from your chest in front, behind and to the side of you. And imagine this light is filled with love. Keep expanding the light as far as you can, imagining it filling the whole room and beyond. You may want to say a mantra to yourself such as ‘I am love’. Relax into the intensity of the light for a few minutes. Then let it slowly reduce in size and brightness until it falls comfortably back into your chest. Take a few more deep breaths and open your eyes.

Work on other chakras No chakra works in isolation. They all affect each other. The heart chakra is paired with the root and the crown chakras and a healer may choose to work on these three chakras at the same time to achieve maximum affects.

See a qualified energy healer You may wish to see a qualified energy healer who can help you work through any blockages in your chakra, and release them. Find out more about my energy healing sessions in Newbury,



Check out my Beat Anxiety Bootcamp online course. Now only £35.00.

I am a qualified Coach and Hypnotherapist, offering coaching, hypnotherapy and my powerful 'fusion' sessions. Find out more.

bottom of page